Jennyscribbles's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Green Revolution; One Small Step

It’s been a while, and I’ve had this on my mind for a long while so I’m going to share it and hope you take it for what it’s worth!

I have been addicted to videos on www.Ted.com. Specifically video’s that bring us closer to nature, so that maybe we won’t be so numb to the effects we are having on earth… our only home. After watching a few shows about the Universe and how the creation of a life on earth is an inexplicable miracle of the right circumstances coming to together at the right time, it helped put into perspective how much we take for granted.

This video is about a man who traveled the world with his wife, they settled in Bali and made a fortune selling Jewelry, sold the company, and decided to contribute locally in Bali with a school. Watch this video, and tell me that this doesn’t make you wonder if we were still educated in taking care of our community through farming, and using indigenous materials etc, that maybe we wouldn’t be so desperate to “find” ourselves. A common phrase used in the US, as if each individual has to carve out their own nook in the world alone, but we aren’t alone, and rarely do we get to where we ought to be alone. We have help by family and friends, so why do we resist community to be alone and only individualistic in our life pursuits.

 

http://www.ted.com/talks/john_hardy_my_green_school_dream.html

And, here is the link to the school and how to go about enrolling and visiting.

 

http://www.greenschool.org/

 

After Watching John Hardy’s Ted.com video to share his new sustainable school with the world, you can see that he and his wife Cynthia are the type of people who carry the weight of the world on their shoulders. I too have this looming feeling, that even if I flush the toilet I am not doing enough, and that I need to do something, but I have yet to find my niche besides being a volunteer. I need to get on top of this year. For now I obsessively research sustainability and the ongoing problems with our world. Well I have a lot of other resources to share that are similar to this green school, but one at time. Until next time folks. J

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

